Honor Roll: Nominations Now Open for Poker Hall of Fame; Winners Inducted During Main Event

June 7, 2022
Honor Roll: Nominations Now Open for Poker Hall of Fame; Winners Inducted During Main Event

With the World Series of Poker now underway, organizers announced Monday that nominations are now open for the Poker Hall Fame. Poker fans can nominate worthy players online through June 19.

Those submitting a nominee should include a brief explanation describing why that person should be chosen for the honor. All submissions will be tabulated and 10 finalists then considered by 32 living members to determine this year’s inductee.

The HOF traditionally elects one or two members annually. WSOP officials will announce the 2022 inductee on the Las Vegas Strip at Bally’s and Paris for the first time on July 10.

 “We are excited to add a new member to poker’s most exclusive fraternity,” WSOP executive director said Ty Stewart said in a news release. “The Poker Hall of Fame provides a chance for idols to become icons and we appreciate the poker community’s input in nominating a worthy list to present to its voting members.”

Poker Hall of Fame criteria

Eli Elezra was the last player inducted into the hall in November 2021. What exactly are the criteria for becoming a Hall of Fame member? Here’s what those nominating must keep in mind when making a selection:

  • The nominee must have played poker against acknowledged top competition.
  • Must be a minimum of 40 years old at the time of nomination.
  • The player must have competed for high stakes consistently well and stood the test of time.
  • Non-players must have contributed to the overall growth and success of the game, with indelible positive and lasting results. 

More on the Poker Hall of Fame

The HAF was established in 1979 and was acquired by Harrah’s Entertainment (now Caesars) along with the WSOP in 2004. Though the Hall of Fame is virtual in nature, its membership includes poker’s most influential players and other important contributors to the game.

The hall has bestowed 59 members with membership, 32 of whom are living.  WSOP organizers conduct the enshrinement ceremony in conjunction with the final table of the WSOP Main Event. Here’s a look at all of those enshrined so far.

Poker Hall of Fame members

Tom Abdo ‘82T “Blondie” Forbes ‘80Carlos Mortensen ‘16
Crandell Addington ‘05Barry Greenstein ‘11Johnny Moss ‘79
Bobby Baldwin ‘03Jennifer Harman ‘15Daniel Negreanu ‘14
Billy Baxter ‘06Dan Harrington ‘10Scotty Nguyen ‘13
Lyle Berman ‘02Murph Harrold ‘84David Oppenheim ‘10
Joe Bernstein ‘83Phil Hellmuth ‘07Henry Orenstein ‘08
Benny Binion ‘90John Hennigan ‘18Walter “Puggy” Pearson ‘87
Jack Binion ‘05James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok ‘79Julius Oral Popwell ‘96
Bill Boyd ‘81Red Hodges ‘85Thomas Austin “Amarillo Slim” Preston ‘92
Doyle Brunson ‘88Edmond Hoyle ‘79David “Chip” Reese ‘91
Todd Brunson ‘16Phil Ivey ‘17Brian “Sailor” Roberts ‘12
Johnny Chan ‘02Linda Johnson ‘11Huck Seed '20
T.J. Cloutier ‘06Berry Johnston ‘04Erik Seidel ‘10
Nick Dandolos ‘79John Juanda ‘15Mike Sexton ‘09
Eric Drache ‘12Jack Keller ‘93Jack “Treetop” Straus ‘88
Eli Elezra '21Jack McClelland ‘14Duane “Dewey” Tomko ‘08
Barbara Enright ‘07Felton McCorquodale ‘79David “Devilfish” Ulliott ‘17
Mori Eskandani ‘18Tom McEvoy ‘13Stu “The Kid” Ungar ‘01
Fred “Sarge” Ferris ‘89Chris Moneymaker ‘19Red Winn ‘79
Henry Green ‘86Roger Moore ‘97Sid Wyman ‘79

★★★ Ready to get in the bracelet hunting action this summer at WSOP.com? Click here for a complete site review with exclusive USPoker bonus offers. ★★★

Privacy Policy