Global Poker Awards Announced for February; Fan Voting Starts Soon 

December 17, 2021
Global Poker Awards Announced for February; Fan Voting Starts Soon 

The Global Poker Index (GPI) and The Hendon Mob (THM) announced the return of the Global Poker Awards on Feb. 18 in partnership with PokerGO. The annual awards honor the best poker players, tours, and others in the industry.

Because of the pandemic, this will be the first time the honors have been given since March 2020. The 2021 ceremony will be streamed live from the PokerGO Studio at Aria Resort.

“We’re so grateful to have the opportunity to host the Global Poker Awards with our partners at PokerGO for the first time in almost two year,” GPI/THM President Eric Danis said. “We’ve been anxiously waiting to bring the awards ceremony back. I cannot wait for everyone to witness what we have in store on Feb. 18.”

The Best Social Poker Room in the USA
The Best Social Poker Room in the USA
Get 150,000 Gold Coins For $10
PLUS 30 FREE Sweeps Coins
Global Poker Review
  • US Players Accepted
  • Get Over 65% Off Your First Purchase
  • Daily FREE GC and SC on Log In
  • Use Promo Code: FLUSH

What to expect from the awards

Poker fans and players can expect numerous honors throughout the night. More than 20 awards are expected to be presented including

  • GPI Player of the Year
  • Player’s Choice for Toughest Opponent
  • Poker Icon
  • Best Vlogger

Fans can also get in on the action by voting on three Fans Choice awards. Danis has promised some new aspects to the show as well.

“We have a few special moments planned for the awards ceremony,” he says. “We can’t get into it now, but there will certainly be a few emotional parts to this year’s ceremony that will leave very few dried eyes for those watching.”

Voting coming soon

The GPI will release more information about the awards and Fans Choice voting in the coming weeks. The voting process is expected to begin in early 2022.

In 2020, Alex Foxen won Player of the Year and his fiancée Kristen Bicknell earned the Female Player of the Year title. Robert Campbell earned the award for Breakout Player of the Year.

Stephen Chidwick earned Toughest Opponent. Johnny Chan earned the Icon Award and Nick Schulman scored Broadcaster of the Year.

More information on the awards will be available in the near future.

“We hope everyone tunes in to watch the Global Poker Awards,” Danis said, “it’s a celebration for all of poker.”

* photo courtesy PokerGO

Privacy Policy